I’m A (Gym Class) Loser, Baby

July 15, 2010 § 3 Comments

No, you do not want me to join your Softball Team.  Seriously, I suck at all sports.  But for kicks, I’m going to give a bunch of strange extremist fitness trends a try.  I must be crazy.  

If you are one of those naturally athletic people, I hate you.  Just a little bit. 

At 29, I have never played a sport, barring forced gym-class activity.  On summer break, I was eschewed sports camps for the Ocean Park Library Summer Reading Club.  (Which, for the record, I totally OWNED.)  This is not to say that I spent all my time indoors, quite the opposite.  My parents owned an old Volkswagen Westie and I grew up camping.  I’d play Capture the Flag until sunset, and still beg for 5 more minutes.  But sports?  With points and teams?  These were to be avoided like the plague. 

It didn’t help that I was a really small kid.  And shy.  With really thick glasses that I’d somehow like to blame for my complete lack of any athleticism whatsoever.  (Lack of peripheral vision, maybe?)  Eventually, I grew to an entirely normal height, started wearing contacts, and managing to bluff through my spectacularly awkward social skills.  Being blonde helped.  People assumed I was dumb instead of painfully shy.

I’ve experimented with fitness here and there.  At 16, I bought a year-long gym membership that I used roughly 5 times.  I tried a step class ONCE.  I dabbled in pilates.   I have made some in roads with my gym phobia along the way.  When I lived in a complex with a full gym, I went most days, but rarely touched the weights.  I was the queen of the at-home-DVD-blinds-closed-workout.  

Funny thing about having kids.  You want to start setting a GOOD EXAMPLE.  (Plus, if you had a pregnancy anything like mine, you have a terrifying amount of jiggly bits left over afterwards.)  Part of my GOOD EXAMPLE is trying to find new ways of exercising that I actually enjoy.  So far, I’ve already tackled Hot Yoga and TRX Suspension Training, with Ocean Kayaking and some Trail Running Clinics on the horizon.

Now excuse me while I reward myself for last night’s TRX session with a good book.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to I’m A (Gym Class) Loser, Baby

  • Gym Class Phobias…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  • Gym Class Phobias…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  • Sarah says:

    I know what you are saying I keep going back to yoga every week and damned if I can balance let alone close my eyes LOL

    I totally relate because I usually suck at things I am trying for the first time and its a lot of hard work just to get to the point that I sorta look like I know what I am doing 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’m A (Gym Class) Loser, Baby at hamma hamma.

meta

