TRX Suspension Training: Fitness For Peeps Who Like to Get High

July 15, 2010 § 3 Comments

Somehow, I’ve found myself in kind of creepy back room of the gym, facing a row of thick straps dangling from the rafters.  It looks like fitness S&M.  This is TRX.

A few weeks back, I was browsing the online Parks and Rec Guide (not so much for me as for the Husband and Kid) when I saw a class called TRX TRAINING – THE NEW CRAVE.  The new CRAVE?  Didn’t they mean CRAZE?

They had my attention.  For me, a typo is almost as unbearable as those bench advertisements for signage companies that read “You Just Proved That Signs Work.”  I’m drawn to crimes against language like a moth to a flame.  I kept reading.

TRX is a new type of functional training. It allows you to increase/decrease your level of difficulty by simply shifting your body position.  While using the TRX, you will use a number if different range of motions to work multiple muscle and joints.  Having amazing abs are great, but improving and strengthening your core will help improve posture, increase overall strength, and more importantly, prevent injuries.  Being suspended in one of the many movements creates an amount of instability that relies your core to provide balance and coordination. Come see what the crave is on the TRX.

It sounded pretty good, even though I was 99% sure they really meant to use the word “craze”  and they used “if” instead of  “of” and left the “s” off muscles.  And the invitation to “come see what the crave is on the TRX” really made no sense whatsoever.  But, it was only $25 and started after dinner.  I signed up.  Then I did a Google Image Search.  Wow.  While I’d been vaguely familiar with the equipment itself, it would seem that I’d been woefully uninformed regarding some of the logistics of using it.  I have the balance of a drunken three-legged dog.  I’ve been known to get headrushes hamming it up for Finn on the big kid swings at the playground.  Was I ready for this?

In line with me being a super gym moron, I got lost trying to find it and ended up about five minutes late.  Somehow, I ended up in a mildly creepy back room, facing a row of thick straps dangling from the rafters.  It looked like fitness S&M.  This was TRX.  Oh boy.  As it turned out, the class had been more popular than expected, and there weren’t enough straps to go around.  I ended up sharing with a quiet guy in his thirties with calves like redwoods and a stern woman in her sixties who looked better in her gym clothes than I did.  Goody!

The TRX System is basically two heavy-duty straps with holds that can double as handles or stirrups.  The straps are mounted overhead and can adjusted in seconds for people of different heights, or in order to perform different exercises.   We began with the easier moves, like upright rows, single-leg lunges, and reverse lunges, bicep curls – performed while using your own body weight as resistance.  The instability of doing these half-hanging in the air was a little hard to get used to but I caught on within a few reps.  (I silently thanked God for the fact that the EA Active has most of the same moves and that I’d been able to do them on solid ground for a few months ahead of time.)   By the end of class, I was dangling from the ceiling with my feet up behind my head, doing reverse crunches.  Yes, my arms and legs were trembling like scared little mice but yes, I actually did them.  Holy crap! 

I felt like Rocky, ready to pull a pick-up through the snow!  YO ADRIENNE!

It was amazing.  My entire body was sore the next day (it took me about two days to fully recover) but I wan’t too surprised, since this has been my first attempt at strength training.  I had my second class last night and our trainer, true to form, pushed us even harder – but it was still great.  (Sidebar: Great except that when I took my first step down the stairs after class,  my leg gave out on me and I nearly tumbled the whole way down.  If you’ve seen Run, Fatboy, Run with Simon Pegg, you have a good idea of what this would’ve looked like.  If you haven’t seen it, you should because it’s brilliant.)

All in all, I’m definitely a TRX convert.  While the kit is available for purchase online (and comes with an instructional DVD), I’m hoping that my class returns for another few sessions – I found having a trainer who can correct your form and also spot you when you’re maneuvering in and out of the straps invaluable. 

Happy Hanging!

DETAILS:

Fitness – TRX TRAINING – THE NEW CRAVE

Chimo Aquatic and Fitness Centre, 633 Poirier Street, Coquitlam, British Columbia, Tel: 604.927.6027

FitnessAnywhere.com

Fitness Anywhere’s online store offers a bunch of different systems, accesories, and free shipping on orders over $150.  There’s also a nifty training resources section with instructional videos and workout tips.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to TRX Suspension Training: Fitness For Peeps Who Like to Get High

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading TRX Suspension Training: Fitness For Peeps Who Like to Get High at hamma hamma.

meta

