Writer’s Block

September 29, 2010 § 1 Comment

There are certain things I know about myself that are contradictory, or at the very least counterproductive.

Chief among these are these two happy campers:

A. Perfectionism.

B.  Procrastination.

Here is my hasty artist’s rendition using PowerPoint:

(Did I resist the urge to toy with that for hours until it was perfect?  YES.)

(Did I just scroll up and look at it and want to change it?  YES.)

You might think that perfectionism and procrastination wouldn’t necessary set up shop in the same individual, BUT they actually go together exceedingly well.

Not enough time to devote to achieving perfection?  Maybe tomorrow.  Or the next day.  Or…

It has meant that some of my best research papers have been written during the eleventh hour, while burning the candle at both ends.  Part of my problem is that I adore research.  To the the point where in order to write a 5 page report, I would find myself sorting through microfiche and sitting through filmstrip documentaries on the off-chance the glut of academic journals, books, and periodicals I had already consulted had missed something awesome of paramount importance.

So what have I been up to lately?

Basically, mentally writing blog posts over and over again, and then discarding them.

Writer’s Block.  Big Time.

Well, if motherhood has taught me anything, it is that I rarely have the time to indulge in either my perfectionism or procrastination anymore, so this post was my solution.

Consider me (forcibly) unblocked.

§ One Response to Writer’s Block

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Writer’s Block at hamma hamma.

meta

